GB Para-Rowers and National Schools Regatta among World Rowing Awards finalists

The 2018 World Rowing Award finalists have been decided. Public nomination drew over 1000 submissions for this year’s awards. The public nominations then went to World Rowing’s expert nominations panel and individual judging panels before the finalists were decided by the FISA Executive Committee.

Joining the World Rowing Awards for 2018 is the Sustainability Award. This award acknowledges those who endeavour to safeguard the environment in which rowing takes place and help their local environment.

Finalists for the 2018 World Rowing Awards

Women’s Crew of the Year

Caileigh Filmer, Hillary Janssens, Canada, Women’s pair
Sanita Puspure, Ireland, Women’s single sculls
Agnieszka Kobus-Zawojska, Marta Wieliczko, Maria Springwald, Katarzyna Zillmann, Poland, Women’s quadruple sculls

Men’s Crew of the Year

Joshua Hicks, Spencer Turrin, Jack Hargreaves, Alexander Hill, Australia, Men’s four
Jason Osborne, Germany, Lightweight men’s single sculls
Johannes Weissenfeld, Felix Wimberger, Maximilian Planer, Torben Johannesen, Jakob Schneider, Malte Jakschik, Richard Schmidt, Hannes Ocik, Martin Sauer (coxswain), Germany, Men’s eight
Paul O’Donovan, Gary O’Donovan, Ireland, Lightweight men’s double sculls

Para-rowing Crew of the Year

Perle Bouge, France, Para PR2 women’s single sculls
Ellen Buttrick, Grace Clough, Oliver Stanhope, Daniel Brown, Erin Wysocki-Jones (coxswain), Great Britain, Para PR3 mixed coxed four
Annika van der Meer, Corne de Koning, Netherlands, Para PR2 mixed double sculls

Coach of the Year

Uwe Bender, Germany, Men’s eight
Dominic Casey, Ireland, Men’s pair, lightweight men’s and women’s double sculls, lightweight men’s quadruple sculls
Jan Klerks, Netherlands, Para-rowing team
Laurel Korholz, United States, Women’s four, women’s single sculls

2018 Sustainability Award

“Pushing for a Clean Sweep”, National Schools Regatta, Great Britain
“Partnership with Waikato Water Authority”, Rowing NZ, New Zealand
“Love Where you Row”, Alan Robinson/Schuylkill Navy, United States
The winners will be announced on Friday 23 November 2018 at the World Rowing Awards dinner in Berlin, Germany. This will be held during the 2018 World Rowing Sports Medicine, Science and Coaches Conference, and 2018 FISA National Federations Conference.

British Rowing para rowers at the 2017 World Rowing Championships WEROW 1024x576 - GB Para-Rowers and National Schools Regatta among World Rowing Awards finalists

The British para-rowing team at the World Rowing Championships 2018 (Image: Naomi Baker for British Rowing)

2018-10-29T11:22:48+00:00 October 29th, 2018|Categories: News|Tags: |