page contents

The Boat Race makes first crew announcements

The Boat Race has made it’s first crew announcements ahead of the Presidents Challenge tomorrow. In 2018 the race will be held on Saturday, March 24 with the men’s race staged for the 164th time, whilst the women’s race is in its fourth year on the Tideway and 73rd year overall. Although the announcement is 11 short of 4 full open weight crews and makes no reference to the reserve boats, here is what we have unpicked from the announcement:-

Imogen Grant of Cambridge University

Imogen Grant of Cambridge at Henley Women’s Regatta

Oxford University Women

Katherine Erickson, President of Oxford University Women’s Boat Club, raced in Osiris in 2016

Eleanor Shearer – coxed in 2017

Morgan McGovern – 5th in the lightweight quads at the 2016 world championships – raced in Osiris in 2017

Rachel Anderson – competed for Oxford as a lightweight in 2017

Sarah Payne Riches -is the oldest at 40 yrs

Matilda Edwards -is the youngest at 19 yrs

Six nationalities: British, Australian, American, Dutch, Finnish and New Zealand.

Cambridge University Women – winners 2017

Daphne Martschenko – Cambridge President, last completed in 2016

Alice Whit – winner in 2017

Imogen Grant – winner in 2017

Myriam Goudet – winner in 2017

Thea Zabell – raced for Oxford  in 2016

Olivia Coffey – American Olympic Spare in 2016, world champion W4x in 2015

Myriam Goudet – is the oldest at 29 yrs

Clare Pearson – is the youngest at 18 yrs

Five nationalities: American, Irish, British, German and New Zealand.

Oxford University Mens Boat Club – winners 2017

Iain Mandale – as President of the club with three consecutive victories in the reserve crew

Vassilis Ragoussis – stroked the winning Oxford crew last year

Will Geffen – Boat Race winner in 2015

Class Mertens – winner in 2017

Christian Coester is the oldest at 28 yrs

Tobias Schroder is the youngest at 18 yrs

Eight nationalities: German, British, South African, Australian, Italian, Canadian, American and Greek.

Cambridge University Mens Boat Club

Hugo Ramambason –  President of the club, coxed in 2017

James Letten, the tallest man to row in the Boat Race

Charles Fisher –  winner in 2016

Robert Hurn – ex-Yale

David Bell is the oldest at 30 yrs

Callum Sullivan is youngest at 18 yrs

Eight nationalities represented: Bermudian, Iranian, British, American, Italian, French, Japanese and Dutch.

Full text is here

2017-11-08T20:18:20+01:00 November 8th, 2017|Categories: Boat Race|Tags: , , |